Nebula Award winners announced

Tomas Martin @ 28-04-2008

Chabon has moved to embrace genre writing over the last few yearsOver the weekend, the Nebula Awards Ceremony took place in Austin Texas. Hosted by the Science Fiction Writer’s Association of America (SFWA), the following excellent works from last year won the top prizes:

Novel: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union – Chabon, Michael (HarperCollins, May07)

Novella: “Fountain of Age” – Kress, Nancy (Asimov’s, Jul07)

Novelette: “The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate”
– Chiang, Ted (F&SF, Sep07)

Short Story: “Always” – Fowler, Karen Joy (Asimov’s, apr/may07)

Script: Pan’s Labyrinth – del Toro, Guillermo (Time/Warner, Jan07)

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Rowling, J. K. (Scholastic Press, Jul07)

Damon Knight Grand Master for 2008: Michael Moorcock

Personally I’m delighted to see Chabon and del Toro get recognised for their work. The Yiddish Policeman’s Union is a tremendously rich alternative history detailing a Jewish settlement in Sitka Alaska coming to the end of its 50 year lease.

[via Ellen Datlow, book cover via amazon]

Be Sociable, Share!

2 Responses to “Nebula Award winners announced”

  1. Sara Alito says:

    Do you know if The Yiddish Policeman’s Union is available as an eBook? I’ve searched all my usual eBook stores and can’t find it. The closest thing I can find is the AudioBook of Chabon’s Gentlemen of the Road at BooksOnBoard (for $8.50!) but I really want the eBook of TYPU…

  2. Tomas Martin says:

    I know that the other four nominees were available as free ebooks before the awards for voters, but not this one. Other people seem to think TYPU isn’t an ebook yet: